REVIEW – Floating Boy and The Girl Who Couldn’t Fly by P.T Jones aka. Stephen Graham Jones and Paul Tremblay

Little Note – I’m new to reviewing and this will be my first review on this site so I’m sorry if I ramble and seem like I don’t know what I’m doing (it’s because I don’t :P) and I hope to improve in the future. Any constructive criticism is welcome 🙂

I received this book on netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title –  Floating Boy and the Girl Who Couldn’t Fly
Author – P.T Jones
Publication date – October 21st 2014
Genre – YA, Fantasy
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

flooo

Things Mary doesn’t want to fall into: the river, high school, her mother’s life.
Things Mary does kind of want to fall into: love, the sky.

This is the story of a girl who sees a boy float away one fine day. This is the story of the girl who reaches up for that boy with her hand and with her heart. This is the story of a girl who takes on the army to save a town, who goes toe-to-toe with a mad scientist, who has to fight a plague to save her family. This is the story of a girl who would give anything to get to babysit her baby brother one more time. If she could just find him.

It’s all up in the air for now, though, and falling fast. . . .

Fun, breathlessly exciting, and full of heart, Floating Boy and the Girl Who Couldn’t Fly is an unforgettable ride

– Goodreads summary

First of all, can I just say that this book was absolutely adorable. I really enjoyed it. I thought that the characters (especially Mary) were so relatable and didn’t gloss over real teen problems whilst also not allowing them to take over the story, i.e Mary’s character didn’t completely revolve around Mary’s anxiety but accepted it as a part of her character as a whole. I really appreciated that. The plot was fast paced and driven and it kept me intrigued until the very end. It was really light, easy read.

I found the floating aspect to be really funny but the writing also showed the serious aspects of it as well such as how it affected the characters. I was really invested in ‘Floating Boy’ and how his life had led to the circumstances he was in and I’m glad about how the story was resolved and Mary’s resolution as well. I thought it wrapped up really well. The only real problem I had was that the plot sometimes drifted…and left you feeling a bit confused as to what was actually happening. Other than that I found it to be a really enjoyable middle grade read. Though it is aimed at a younger audience I’d recommend it to anybody who is interested in a cute fantasy read.

One thought on “REVIEW – Floating Boy and The Girl Who Couldn’t Fly by P.T Jones aka. Stephen Graham Jones and Paul Tremblay

Leave a Reply

