30 Day Reading Challenge – Day 8

Day 8 – Most Overrated book

Please note this is just my opinion 🙂

The book I have chosen for today is… Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. Don’t get me wrong I’m not a Twilight hater, on the contrary I used to love Twilight (though not anymore) but as I’ve grew older I’ve began to see the more problematic aspects of the series which a lot of people choose to ignore. An example of the problematic content is the unhealthy relationship between Bella and the two love interests, especially the consent and violent aspects. A lot of fans tend to glamorize the problems and act as if the problems don’t exist which really frustrates me as it influences a lot of people. Anyway, I just think this book is slightly overrated in the way people view it as this perfect piece of literature, which like all literature, it isn’t.

Twilight

 

4 thoughts on “30 Day Reading Challenge – Day 8

  1. I’m a lot like you. When I was younger, I loved Twilight, but while now I don’t hate it, I’m just kind of lukewarm on the whole subject. I think a lot of the problems are also featured in other books, but since Twilight became so popular with so many people, people use it as a prime example to spotlight those problems. Stephanie Meyer’s other book, The Host, I enjoyed more than Twilight.

    • I feel exactly the same as you. I sort of became disillusioned and I’m just indifferent now. I think the series as a whole has a lot of problematic content but since it’s the start of the series I decided to use Twilight as the example. I enjoyed The Host more than Twilight too 🙂

  2. I couldn’t agree more! Ugh I used to be a Twilight fan… *shudders*. It was when I read the fourth book that it opened my eyes, haha. Funnily enough, I love The Host!

Leave a Reply

