30 Day Reading Challenge – Day 9

Day 9 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

Ooh. This is quite hard since I generally only pick up books I think I’ll like. A book I wasn’t sure about when I first picked it up was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

I’d heard a lot of different things about Rainbow Rowell’s writing such as the problems a lot of people had with Eleanor and Park whilst other people absolutely loved it.

I was expecting an easy contemporary read when I first picked Fangirl up but I got so much more. I identified so much with Cather’s character and the portrayal of her anxiety was just so on point that she was really easy to connect with. I loved the side story of the fanfic, it was really cute and as a fanfic fan it was really funny to read about other peoples perspectives. The romance was really sweet but I also liked how it wasn’t 100% the focus of the book. It was a really fun book to read. I’d definitely recommend it. 🙂

20140707-234045-85245790.jpg

Leave a Reply

