Classics TBR

I’ve decided to set myself a little challenge to read more classics/modern classics before the end of this year or just in general, especially since I’ve made a big order of them I don’t want my TBR pile to get higher and higher. Let me know if you’ve read/want to read any of these or maybe recommend some others. I’ll update this each month to keep track of my progress. I may add more if I buy some more (also a few are rereads) 🙂

– Maurice by E. M. Forster (I’m hoping to start this later this week)

– Passage to India by E. M. Forster

– The Life to Come and Other Stories by E. M. Forster

– Howards End by E. M. Forster

– Where Angels Fear to Tread by E. M Forster

– A Room With A View by E. M. Forster

– Orlando by Virginia Woolf

– Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

– A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

– To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

– Between the Acts by Virginia Woolf

– Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf

– Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf

– The Waves by Virginia Woolf

– The Years by Virginia Woolf

– Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

– The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

– Evelina by Fanny Burney

– The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

– Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

– The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

– Jane Eyre by Charlotte BrontĂ«

– Shirley by Charlotte BrontĂ«

– Vilette by Charlotte BrontĂ«

– Wuthering Heights by Emily BrontĂ«

– The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne BrontĂ«

– Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

– Middlemarch by George Eliot

– The Well of Loneliness by Radclyffe Hall

– A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood

– The Awakening by Kate Chopin

– Nightwood by Djuna Barnes

– Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe

– Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

– A Pair of Blue Eyes by Thomas Hardy

– North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

– Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell

– Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell

– North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

– Sense of Sensibility by Jane Austen

– Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

– Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

– Emma by Jane Austen

– Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

– Persuasion by Jane Austen

– Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

– The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

Sorry if I mixed any of these up!

 

6 thoughts on “Classics TBR

  1. I could give you a list of Classics that I think you should read (being an English Lit student…) so if you need any more by the time you’ve read these, feel free to let me know (:

    • Definitely. I really want to study English literature so it’d be really interesting to see what books you would recommend. Feel free to let me know whenever you have the time and I’ll add them to the list. Thanks! 🙂

  2. English Literature is a great thing to study (for the most part!). I’d definitely recommend it (: You are introduced to books you never would have come across earlier, and it’s really cool to be able to discuss books for 2 hours each seminar!! (I’ve just finished studying Beowulf in Old English!)

    Books you haven’t included that I think you should read:
    ~To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee. (One of my favourite books!)
    ~A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
    ~Moby Dick – Herman Melville
    ~The Catcher in the Rye – J.D Salinger
    ~Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
    ~1984 – George Orwell
    ~Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
    ~Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathon Swift
    ~Clarissa – Samuel Richardson
    ~Tristram Shandy – Laurence Sterne
    ~The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
    ~David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
    ~The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald (I actually hate this! haha)
    ~The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
    ~Dr Jeckyl and Mr Hyde – Robert Louis Stevenson
    ~White Fang – Jack London
    ~The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
    ~The Riddle of the Sands – Erskine Childers
    ~Lord of the Flies – William Golding
    ~Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
    ~Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

    Obviously there are loads more, and I could go on for hours haha.

    • I’m hoping to start English lit in autumn *fingers crossed*. I think I own a few of these but I haven’t read them yet so I’ll definitely get to them soon. I’ve heard of a lot of the others so I’ll be adding them to my TBR (and my basket haha). Thanks so much for the recommendations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

