30 Day Reading Challenge – Day 26

Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something

I really can’t think of any at all. I’ve read a lot of books that have made me think about things or that have influenced me but not any that have changed my opinion on a particular subject. Books that I’ve found really thought-provoking are The Equality Illusion by Kat Banyard and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (which I’m still reading).

The Equality Illusion made me really think about modern-day sexism and casual misogyny in our society and it reaffirmed my own beliefs. It was really compelling how the beginning of each chapter gave you a small look into the lives of different women in a variety of situations who were dealing with sexism. It was a really interesting read.

I am still reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (which I stopped reading when I was in a reading slump a while ago) and it really made me think about racism and bodily autonomy especially how the actions in the book have influenced our modern-day society and Henrietta’s family’s lives. I’m going to continue reading this soon hopefully.

They are both really intriguing and amazing books and I’d recommend picking them both up.

 

Leave a Reply

