Mini Reviews – Remember Me, Only Remembered and A Song for Ella Grey

These are all generally short books so I thought why not do a collection of quick mini reviews? 🙂

I’ve linked to the Goodreads profiles of each of these books in case you’d like to know more (such as publishing date, genre etc.). I received all of these books off of netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

(Apologies in advance for any mistakes. I just did these quickly as I’m a bit busy at the moment)

Remember Me by Melanie Batchelor ★★★★☆

I’ve never read a book written in verse but I found Remember Me surprisingly enjoyable. I thought that aspects of both Jamie and Erica were really relatable and that made me enjoy the book even more. I liked how realistic the relationship between Erica and Jamie was, the fact that Jamie preferred to be ignorant to Erica’s problems rather than finding out what she was really going through really connected with me. I thought it was an honest portrayal of a lot of teenage relationships and I found it really touching and sad. I’d definitely recommend picking this up if you’re interested in reading a book written in verse as I really liked it.

Only Remembered – Edited by Michael Morpurgo and Illustrated by Ian Beck ★★★★★

This is an anthology of works by various people relating to WWI. I’m kind of a history buff so I found this really interesting and I loved reading the different stories written by various people, including celebrities. I also enjoyed the variety of content in the anthology as it included things such as songs and comic strips from the war, I liked how accessible to a variety of people that made it. This book was a really thought provoking, lovely anthology and I’m glad I gave it a go.

A Song for Ella Grey by David Almond ★★☆☆☆

This book was…surreal. It just seemed like it was trying too hard to be meaningful. Don’t get me wrong there were some beautiful quotes in there but sometimes it just felt like too much. The plot was confusing and I just didn’t understand what was happening most of the time. I know it’s based off of a Greek myth but it just felt all over the place and the ending just didn’t make sense to me. I enjoyed the story at the beginning but from there it seemed to go downhill and it just seemed too stuffed with metaphors and adjectives that I ended up skimming some paragraphs.

One thought on “Mini Reviews – Remember Me, Only Remembered and A Song for Ella Grey

Leave a Reply

