REVIEW – Lips Touch by Laini Taylor

Title – Lips Touch
Author – Laini Taylor
Illustrator – Jim Di Bartolo
Publication date –  October 23rd 2014
Publisher – Hodder and Stoughton
Genre – Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

lips touch

I received this book in exchange for an honest review (via bookbridgr).

Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers’ souls:

Goblin Fruit
In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today’s savvy girls?

Spicy Little Curses
A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.

Hatchling
Six days before Esme’s fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons? – Goodreads Description

I loved this book! The art was absolutely beautiful and Laini Taylor’s writing style kept me absorbed from the very start. I had never read anything by her before (though I do own Daughter of Smoke and Bone) but after this I’m definitely going to read more of her work soon. All of the stories within this book were completely unique and I really enjoyed them all.

Goblin Fruit
Goblin Fruit was such an interesting story. I really loved the main character, Kizzy. I liked how Laini Taylor was able to flesh out her character in such a short amount of time, so much so that you really got to understand Kizzy.
I loved the fantasy aspect of this story, I love stories to do with mythological creatures so I thought that Laini Taylor’s unique spin on Goblin’s made the story even more enjoyable.
I thought that Kizzy’s family’s backstory was really interesting, their belief in magic and their way of life helped you to understand what Kizzy was going through. I really liked the ending, it was really fitting.
I loved Goblin Fruit despite the few small problems I had such as the ED joke and other smaller things that just didn’t sit right with me. Overall it was a really fun story.

Spicy Little Curses
Spicy Little Curses was definitely my favourite story of the three. Laini Taylor’s writing in this particular story was very atmospheric, it was so easy to imagine the setting and the characters. The ‘Hell’ aspect really intrigued me and I’d definitely love to read more work set in this universe.
Esmerelda’s story interested me the most and I really enjoyed reading about her life, how she went from grieving widow to ambassador in Hell.
The romance in this story was very sweet (despite some hiccups in the relationship) and I thought it developed perfectly. The curse in this story was particularly interesting to me, whoever hears Anamique speak will die. I loved reading about her struggle with the curse and how she lives with it. I’m definitely going to reread Spicy Little Curses in the future.

Hatchling
I think that Hatchling was my least favourite story though I did still enjoy it. Sometimes it just got a bit confusing and I can’t really explain the parts that made me uncomfortable without spoiling the major plot points. Again, Laini Taylor’s writing style kept me hooked despite the problems I had and I absolutely loved the magic system in this story. I was also very interested in the ‘demon’ race that Esme and her mother were running from and I liked how they later became more significant and you got to learn more about them.

I’d definitely recommend picking up Lips Touch, the art and writing make for an amazing book that I’ll definitely reread in the future.

3 thoughts on “REVIEW – Lips Touch by Laini Taylor

  1. Nice to read such a positive review. I”ve had this book for quite some time but not read it yet! I’ll have to bump it up the list. It’s such a beautiful book with lovely illustrations.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

