REVIEW – Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Prisoner of Night and FogTitle – Prisoner of Night and Fog

Author – Anne Blankman

Publication Date – April 22nd 2014

Publisher – Headine

Genre – Historical Fiction

Rating – ★★★★★

Goodreads | Author’s Website | Book Depository Affiliate

I received a copy from the publisher via bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review.

Gretchen Muller has, as best she can, dealt with the horrors of her family’s past. Her father, a senior Nazi officer, died to save the life of their leader, Adolf Hitler. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more. Swept up in the excitement and passion of life in Munich in 1931, seventeen-year-old Gretchen has embraced the life laid out for her by that leader, her ‘Uncle Dolf’.

But the secrets of the past cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen receives a letter from an anonymous sender claiming to have more information about her father’s death, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, it is a race that will risk everything she has and change her life forever… – Headline Website

Prisoner of Night and Fog is probably one of my favourite books of 2014. It was touching, intriguing and so nice to read. As I’ve said before I’m a huge historical fiction fan and this book just ticked all the right boxes for me. It was detailed without dragging on and romantic without being too cheesy.

I loved the character development of Gretchen as she slowly began to realise the reality of the Nazi party and as she dealt with her own anti-semitism. Her romance with Daniel was perfectly paced and it felt really genuine and I can’t wait to see how it develops in the next book. I enjoyed how Anne Blankman took actual parts of history and included them within the plot in a believable way. It’s normally quite risky to include real historical figures in fiction but I think that the author captured the figure of Adolf Hitler quite well in this book and his character was the perfect mix of disturbing and realistic. Reading about Gretchen’s journey to discover what really happened to her father (Hitler’s closest friend) and Hitler’s true intentions for the Nazi party made for a really compelling read.

The writing style was very atmospheric and I could really imagine the events and places that were described. The plot was gripping and I couldn’t wait to pick it back up whenever I had to put it down when I had to do school work. I loved how the story went and all the twists and turns that it took. I just really loved this book and I can’t wait to read Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke and anything that Anne Blankman may write in the future. I’d definitely recommend picking this up! 🙂

2 thoughts on “REVIEW – Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

Leave a Reply

