REVIEW – Now That I’ve Found You by Ciara Geraghty

Now That I've Found YouTitle – Now That I’ve Found You
Author –  Ciara Geraghty
Publication date –  January 15th 2015
Publisher – Hodder & Stoughton
Genre – Contemporary/Romance
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Goodreads | Author’s Website | Buy The Book

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Vinnie is an ordinary man. Ellen is an ordinary woman.

Ellen is unable to move on after a terrible accident that left her mentally and physically scarred.

Taxi driver Vinnie is struggling to cope with bringing up two children on his own.

Everyone deserves to find that one person who’s meant for them, don’t they?

Fall in love with the story of Vinnie and Ellen. Because ordinary lives can be extraordinary.

– Goodreads Description

Now That I’ve Found You is a sweet and lovely story about two completely different people finding love with each other. I just really enjoyed this book, I’m not usually a huge fan of purely romance books but this was a refreshing change. It was one of those books that just made me smile during the cute parts but also made me a little teary during some of the sadder parts and I appreciated the emotional range it portrayed.

It’s told from the perspective of Vinnie, a taxi driver whose wife recently left him and he’s not exactly looking for love but somehow he finds it in the form of Ellen. Throughout the book there are letters to Ellen’s husband from Ellen that show the events that have happened from her perspective which I found really interesting and I enjoyed reading those the most. Vinnie takes Ellen in his taxi to weekly physical therapy appointments and an incident brings them together. I thought that the pacing of the relationship between Vinnie and Ellen was perfect, I can’t stand instant-love in books, it really bugs me and I think Ciara Geraghty handled the development of the love story perfectly.

I loved the side characters especially Vinnie’s kids and I think they added a really funny aspect to the story and I cringed on behalf of Vinnie’s daughter a lot of the time. Even so his ‘over protective dad’ routine really irritated me sometimes, especially in terms of her boyfriend as stuff like that really annoys me and it comes across as a bit ehh. I had a few problems with this book in such as certain subjects that were handled and a few other things but overall I really enjoyed this book, much more than I expected to. I’d definitely recommend this to contemporary fans or people who are looking for a complex but entertaining read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

