Currently Reading #4

I’m sorry for the brief absence! I had a big essay to hand in for my coursework so now that I’ve done that I can hopefully start blogging regularly again. I figured I’d give you a little update on what I’ve been reading so here you go!

Winter SIegeI recently finished Winter Siege by Ariana Franklin and Samantha Norman which I gave 4.5 stars. It’s set in 12th century England in the midst of the civil war between Queen Matilda and King Stephen. It’s told from a variety of perspectives of people who are dragged into this war and how they’re all connected. I’m going to post a review very soon but it was a lovely historical fiction and I hope to read more of Ariana Franklin’s older works.

Finn Fancy NecromancyI’m currently reading Finn Fancy Necromancy by Randy Henderson. It’s an urban fantasy about a boy who was exiled to the Other Realm for 25 years and returns to find out that the people who framed him in the first place are trying to get him exiled again. Not only that but he also has to deal with how much the world has changed in his absence and the people his family have become. It’s really interesting so far and I love the magic system ! I’ve nearly finished and I can’t wait to see how it ends.

The ThreeI’ve also started The Three by Sarah Lotz which I received this morning in the post from Hodder. I’ve only read a few chapters but it’s really intriguing and I hope to finish it soon because I can’t imagine where the story is going to go. It’s about a day called Black Thursday where four passenger planes all crashed simultaneously around the world and only three children survived. Before another passenger dies from injuries she obtains in the crash she leaves a disturbing message that is supposed to change the world. From what I’ve read it’s sort of a book within a book as it has different interviews and extracts from people who were there on Black Thursday which I really like. It’s so compelling and I keep having to stop myself from picking it up when I’m supposed to be doing school work! I’ll post a review once I’ve finished.

What are you currently reading? Let me know down in the comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

