REVIEW – My Rebellion Checklist by Susan Soares

rebellion checklist susan soares mediumTitle – My Rebellion Checklist
Author –  Susan Soares
Publication date –  March 10th 2015
Genre – YA Contemporary/Romance
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆    (3.5)
Goodreads | Author’s Website Buy the book

I received a e-galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Victoria Matherson’s summer to-do list looked something like this:

1. Get organized for college
2. Complete summer job at Dad’s office
3. Spend a romantic summer with Adam

During the first week of her summer vacation, Victoria’s super planned life suddenly swerves completely off track. Her boyfriend breaks up with her unexpectedly, she gets in a near-fatal car wreck, and her parents announce the end of their twenty-year marriage.

Victoria decides to live life messily, to take chances, and finally to rebel. Taking on the new name of “Tori,” she creates a checklist of rebellion:

#3 Get an extreme haircut
#6 Pierce something

which she’ll use to show everyone around her that all the changes to her perfectly organized life haven’t affected her in the least. Even though they have.

With the help of her quirky and cute co-worker Zack, Tori will check off the crazy items on her list and learn what it means to give up control and be free. But just how far will she go? – Goodreads Description

When I started My Rebellion Checklist I was unsure if I would like it but I wanted to give it a try anyway. Despite any preconceptions I may have had I actually really enjoyed it, it was such a sweet book and made me smile. It’s nice to read a book that is just quick and fun and I read it in one sitting.

It was fun to read about what Tori considered being rebellious, like cutting her hair and changing her name. Her attitude change was subtle but I definitely understood what she was going through though sometimes I just wanted to tell her to stop! I thought that the portrayal of her parents divorce, especially her reaction was very realistic and reading about how her life just seemed to be spiraling out of control really made for a compelling read.

I thought that the characters were really realistic and even though Tori made bad choices sometimes I still empathised with her. I especially liked how the side characters were fully fleshed out and had their own problems as it made them even more relatable and likeable. Even though it’s for a slightly younger audience than me I still found it really nice to read. I liked how despite the light storyline it still delivered an important underlying message and how Tori came to the realisation that she didn’t have to change. I have to admit though I wasn’t a huge fan of Zack though I did love a lot of the other side characters.

If you’re looking for a cute book to read then I think this would definitely fit the bill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

