BLOG TOUR – Narvla’s Celtic New Year by Therese Gilardi – Author Interview

Hello! Today I am hosting a stop on the blog tour for Narvla’s Celtic New Year. I was kindly allowed to interview the author, Therese Gilardi (Thank you!) and I’m very pleased to show you her answers to my questions. My review for Narvla’s Celtic New Year should be up very soon so make sure to look out for that. Enjoy!  🙂


Hollie, thanks so much for having me. I appreciate the opportunity to appear on your blog.

Could you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am a poet, novelist and essayist. I currently live in the hills above Los Angeles. I adore blue cameos, the Paris metro and Irish pub music.

What books or authors would you say have influenced/inspired you?

My favorite writers are Marian Keyes, Frank McCourt, Charles Bukowski, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Galway Kinnell. I love how all of these writers have a strong sense of place and a unique way of using language.

What is your favourite book?

My favorite Young Adult book is “Anna and the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins. I’m very fond of “Rachel’s Holiday” by Marian Keyes and “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte.

What is your favourite thing about writing/being an author?

The relief I feel when I put my words down on paper.

As your book is set in Ireland, what would you say most interests you about Ireland and why did you choose Ireland in particular?

I am married to an Irish man and my mother’s family lives in Co. Donegal, so I guess you could say I’m quite enamored of the Irish as a people. As a writer I’m fascinated by the importance of place. For me setting is almost a character. I wanted to write about the intersection between postcard picture perfect Ireland the realities of life in Dublin.

What book are you currently reading?

I am currently reading “Case Histories” by Kate Atkinson.

Narvla is a dance champion, is that something that you’re interested in personally and did you have to do a lot of research for this aspect of the book?

Everything about step dancing fascinates me. The wigs, the dresses, even the sound of the hard shoes hitting a wooden floor. There’s something so primal and comforting about Irish music and dance. However I’ve never stepped myself, so I did have to do a bit of reading up on the subject in order to create Narvla’s dance world.

What would you say was the most challenging thing about writing Narvla’s Celtic New Year?

I think it’s always difficult to write about a place that people tend to romanticize.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading my work! I hope I’ve given you a laugh, a cry and the feeling you’ve made some new friends.


NARVLANarvla’s life is as precisely choreographed as the routines that have made her a national step-dancing champion. She has a loyal best friend, a devoted boyfriend, and a lock on admission to her dream college, the University of Notre Dame. Until her mother is named U.S. Ambassador to Ireland, and her life unravels. First Narvla receives a disturbing picture of her boyfriend and her best friend. Then she struggles to qualify for the Irish elite step-dancing squad, and her grades plummet.

But the biggest obstacle in Narvla’s new life is Dublin Boy, a cheeky musician with a disdain for academics and a distrust of Americans. Although Narvla is upset when she’s paired with Dublin Boy for the most important semester of her life, her real concern is the growing attraction she feels toward him. As the Celtic New Year unfolds, Narvla is pushed to abandon her lifelong need for control and embrace the charm of the unexpected.

Narvla’s Celtic New Year will be released on April 6th 2015!

Links – Goodreads | Author’s Website 

Leave a Reply

