March Book Haul Part 3

Welcome to Part 3 of my March Book Haul. Only one more to go after this. I think most of the books in this part of the haul are review books so I’ll have reviews as soon as I’ve read them! Anyway the books I received were –
MARCH BOOK HAUL #2

Those Above by Daniel Polansky (I’ve already read this. Review to come.)

The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams (I’m so excited for this! I loved the Copper Promise.)

The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland

The Testimony of the Hanged Man by Ann Granger

Theft of Life by Imogen Robertson

Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory (Also read this. Review should be up soon.)

The Mountain Can Wait by Sarah Leipciger

The Rise and Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman

A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar

One Small Act of Kindness by Lucy Dillon

The Vanishing Witch by Karen Maitland

The Secrets We Share by Emma Hannigan

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

16 thoughts on “March Book Haul Part 3

  1. I got really confused for a second because your stack of books looks exactly like mine. Like exactly, its creepy. I read Those Above, wasn’t that impressed with it. Haven’t read the rest yet.

      • I gave it 3 stars because there were some parts I enjoyed but it really did feel like the author tried too hard. The characters just seemed like characters I’d read about before.

      • Yeah thats how I felt too! It was weird, one of the first chapters was almost exactly the same as one of the first chapters of The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson.

      • Yeah, it was trying to be like an epic fantasy. I compared it to The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by NK Jemisin in my review. Also you should totally read Brandon Sanderson if you like fantasy, I’m working my way through the Stormlight Archive series just now and its brilliant.

      • Oh really what have you heard? All I know about Brandon Sanderson is that he is a crazy book writing machine. But I have heard that the Mistborn series is really good.

      • Huh I didn’t know about this. I suppose its more about how his religion views marriage, I know in LDS that marriage is this whole big important thing. It seems like he really doesn’t have a problem with homosexuality, and people having civil unions, but to him ‘marriage’ is different and important. Also I had no idea he was Mormon.

        He does say that people (even smart ones) are sometimes wrong, and he did update the post saying how some of his views have changed.

        I suppose its a bit like Orson Scott Card. He writes brilliant books but some people don’t agree with his views about homosexuality.

      • It’s interesting to see how certain aspects of his opinions have changed whilst other haven’t (though I do disagree with him). You never know he may even update it again in the future. I’ve heard about Orson Scott Card too, his work seems to be very popular even if his opinions aren’t. Since I own the first Mistborn book I’ll probably try it out! From what I’ve heard his books are really good. 🙂

      • Yeah, I mean I disagree with his views too but I understand why he has them because of his religion. Ah well, maybe he will change his mind.

        I have to say Ender’s Game is really good even though Orson Scott Card is a total butthead.

        I’ve heard the Mistborn series is good, haven’t read it yet though. I’m hoping to buy Words of Radiance this week.

Leave a Reply

