REVIEW – One Small Act of Kindness by Lucy Dillon

One Small Act of KindnessTitle – One Small Act of Kindness
Author –  Lucy Dillon
Publication date –  April 23rd 2015
Genre – Women’s Fiction/Contemporary
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (Probably 4.5)
Goodreads Author’s Twitter |  Buy the book

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Libby and her husband Jason have moved back to his hometown to turn the family B&B into a boutique hotel. They have left London behind and all the memories – good and bad – that went with it.

The injured woman Libby finds lying in the remote country road has lost her memory. She doesn’t know why she came to be there, and no one seems to be looking for her.

When Libby offers to take her in, this one small act of kindness sets in motion a chain of events that will change many people’s lives . . – Amazon Description

One Small Act of Kindness is a lovely story centred on two women’s lives and how they intertwine. I really loved this book, both the mystery aspect of the ‘injured woman’s’ identity and the struggling relationship between Libby and her husband really interested me. I haven’t really read a lot of novels in the ‘women’s fiction’ genre but this book has definitely spurred me on to read more because this was a great surprise.

The story starts when Libby and her husband Jason have both moved back to his home town to care for his recently widowed mother’s hotel. Obviously trouble arises when there is an accident outside of the hotel which leads to Libby meeting the other main protagonist who goes by Pippa…and she has lost her memory. I loved the friendship between the two characters and how supportive they were of each other. I really enjoyed their dynamic, they were so funny and lovely, their friendship was probably my favourite part of the book. On the other hand Libby’s relationship with her husband is a rocky one for reasons which are revealed throughout the book. I thought it was a really honest portrayal of a marriage even if I did dislike Jason most of the time. His character could be really frustrating sometimes, especially his relationship with his mother.

I also really loved ‘Pippa’s’ character individually and how her backstory was revealed through different interactions and memories throughout the book. Reading from her POV was very entertaining and I really empathised with her. Her struggle with understanding the person she was and becoming the person she wanted to be just made me love her character even more. The side characters were also really refreshing, both Libby’s friends and Jason’s family. I thought they were really well incorporated into the story and I grew to love (some of) them.

I’d definitely recommend picking this up if you’re interested because I really I liked it. I just found this book really entertaining and fun and I’m probably going to pick up more books by Lucy Dillon in the future! 🙂

4 thoughts on “REVIEW – One Small Act of Kindness by Lucy Dillon

Leave a Reply

