REVIEW – Waiting for Doggo by Mark Mills

waiting for doggoTitle – Waiting for Doggo
Author – Mark Mills
Publication date – November 20th 2014
Genre – Contemporary
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆
Goodreads | Author’s Website | Buy the book

I received a proof of this book in exchange for an honest review.

No-one ever called Dan a pushover. But then no-one ever called him fast-track either. He likes driving slowly, playing Sudoku on his iPhone, swapping one scruffy jumper for another. He’s been with Clara for four years and he’s been perfectly happy; but now she’s left him, leaving nothing but a long letter filled with incriminations and a small, white, almost hairless dog, named Doggo. So now Dan is single, a man without any kind of partner whether working or in love. He’s just one reluctant dog owner. Find a new home for him, that’s the plan. Come on…everyone knows the old adage about the best laid plans and besides, Doggo is one special kind of a four legged friend…and an inspiration. – Goodreads Description

Waiting for Doggo was a quick easy read that I generally enjoyed. I loved reading about the work environment of the designers office where Dan works and the office politics, it was really funny. Doggo was obviously the star of the show. I loved how his background sort of tied into the plot and how he developed within the story. I always enjoy books focusing on animals and Doggo’s character was my favourite though I did think he could have been involved more.

The biggest problem I had with this book was that I absolutely hated the main character, Dan. Maybe hate’s too strong a word? At the very least I really disliked him. I just didn’t enjoy his attitude or the way he handled things, especially concerning the way he acted when his girlfriend left. I just wasn’t a fan and couldn’t relate to him at all, and though it’s a bit mean I completely understand why his girlfriend left.

The story itself is centred on Dan’s life post-breakup and it was actually quite enjoyable, I enjoyed it much more when it wasn’t purely centred on Dan and you were able to learn about other characters. The other characters were quite interesting, especially Edie, I really liked her character. This book is quite simple and fun and though it wasn’t exactly a ‘fast-paced’ read it was still enjoyable. Despite the problems I had I thought it was a quick, easy read and will probably appeal to a lot of different people, especially contemporary fans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

