My Upcoming Anticipated Releases – Part 1

There are a lot of really interesting books coming out soon and I thought I’d share a few that I’m most looking forward to reading. No sequels, just first novels or standalones because there are a lot of series continuations that I’m interested in and I may make another post on those in the future. All of the release dates listed will be the UK dates. I hope you enjoy and be sure to check out these books if you’re interested!


A Portable ShelterA Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan – Release Date: August 10th 2015
In their tiny, sea-beaten cottage on the north coast of Scotland, Liska and Ruth await the birth of their first child. They spend their time telling stories to the unborn baby, trying to pass on the lessons they’ve learned: tales of circuses and stargazing, selkie fishermen and domestic werewolves, child-eating witches and broken-toothed dragons. But each must keep their storytelling a secret from the other, as they’ve agreed to only ever tell the plain truth. Ruth tells her stories when Liska is at work, to a background of shrieking seabirds; Liska tells hers when Ruth is asleep, with the lighthouse sweeping its steady beam through the window. As their tales build and grow along with their child, Liska and Ruth realise that the truth lives in their stories, and they cannot hide from one another. A Portable Shelter is a beautifully produced collection of elegant, haunting short stories from one of Britain’s most exciting new talents. Each story is accompanied by an illustration by award-winning artist Liz Myhill. Produced with the assistance of the Dr Gavin Wallace Fellowship.

I’ve never read a Kirsty Logan book before (though I do want to read The Gracekeepers) and this books seems really interesting and unique. I think it’s a collection of short stories that are woven into a bigger plotline and it just seems fascinating. I think I’m going to pre-order it as I’ve heard there is a limited printing run on the hardcover edition.

Slasher Girls and Monster boysSlasher Girls and Monster Boys by Various Authors – Release Date: August 13th
A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, or even music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here, these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all too possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill. The full roster of authors includes Stefan Bachmann, Leigh Bardugo, Kendare Blake, A. G. Howard, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Jonathan Maberry, Danielle Paige, Carrie Ryan, Megan Shepherd, Nova Ren Suma, McCormick Templeman, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Cat Winters.

This book seems amazing! I’m especially excited for the stories by Leigh Bardugo, Cat Winters and Marie Lu. Horrors and thrillers are some of my favourite genres and this comes out just in time for Halloween so I may save it until then.

A History of Glitter and BloodA History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz – Release Date: August 18th 2015
Sixteen-year-old Beckan and her friends are the only fairies brave enough to stay in Ferrum when war breaks out. Now there is tension between the immortal fairies, the subterranean gnomes, and the mysterious tightropers who arrived to liberate the fairies.

But when Beckan’s clan is forced to venture into the gnome underworld to survive, they find themselves tentatively forming unlikely friendships and making sacrifices they couldn’t have imagined. As danger mounts, Beckan finds herself caught between her loyalty to her friends, her desire for peace, and a love she never expected.

This stunning, lyrical fantasy is a powerful exploration of what makes a family, what justifies a war, and what it means to truly love.

Hannah Moskowitz is an author I’ve been interested in reading recently (I actually own her novel Teeth) so I’m really excited to read AHOGAB. I love fantasy novels and I haven’t read a really good book about fairies in a while so I hope this is as good as I’m hoping.

The Rest of Us Just Live HereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – Release Date: August 27th
What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshiped by mountain lions.

Patrick Ness is one of my favourite writers, I loved More Than This and I really enjoyed what I’ve read of his Chaos Walking trilogy. I also own a few of his other novels that I can’t wait to read. This book sounds really interesting, I’ve always wanted to read a book from the POV of the ‘sidekick’ rather than the ‘saviour’. I’m definitely going to pre-order this, it’s probably the book I’m most excited for!

COurt of FIvesCourt of Fives by Kate Elliot – Release Date: August 27th
In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott begins a new trilogy with her debut young adult novel, weaving an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.

Jessamy’s life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whomever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom’s best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes’s family apart, she’ll have to test Kal’s loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death

Another interesting epic fantasy that I want to read! Kate Elliot’s well-known within the fantasy genre and she’s an author I’ve had on my TBR list for quite a while. COF sounds really unique and unlike any other fantasy I’ve read and I’m interested in how the power and privilege aspect comes into play.


Thanks for reading! Sorry that the post is a bit messy as I just wanted to post quickly before my monthly wrap up. Let me know in the comments any books you’re anticipating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

