REVIEW – The Autobiography of James T. Kirk by David Goodman

autobiography of james kirkTitle – The Autobiography of James T. Kirk
Author – David Goodman
Publication date – September 8th 2015 (Today!)
Genre – Fictional Autobiography/Science Fiction
Rating – ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Goodreads | Author’s Twitter | Buy the book

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Autobiography of James T. Kirk chronicles the greatest Starfleet captain’s life (2233–2371), in his own words. From his birth on the U.S.S. Kelvin, his youth spent on Tarsus IV, his time in the Starfleet Academy, his meteoric raise through the ranks of Starfleet, and his illustrious career at the helm of the Enterprise, this in-world memoir uncovers Captain Kirk in a way Star Trek fans have never seen. Kirk’s singular voice rings throughout the text, giving insight into his convictions, his bravery, and his commitment to the life—in all forms—throughout this Galaxy and beyond. Excerpts from his personal correspondence, captain’s logs, and more give Kirk’s personal narrative further depth. – Goodreads Description

I’m kind of a newbie Trekkie so when I was offered the chance to review The Autobiography of James T. Kirk I jumped at it. To preface this book will basically spoil the original Star Trek series and the original films (which I am still making my way through). As I kind of knew the gist of what was going to happen in the later films I didn’t mind as it also gave a big look into Captain Kirk’s life pre-Enterprise.

This is a great book to add to any fan’s library as it gives you a chance to look inside the mind of the famous ‘Captain Kirk’ (or David Goodmans interpretation of him.). He’s such an interesting character that usually I’m not all that big a fan of but this showed a side to him that I really enjoyed and made him more realistic. Insight is given into his childhood and his experience of Tarsus IV whilst also exploring missions that tie into the actual screen adaptation.

I’ll admit sometimes it can be a bit slow paced and sometimes lacks the excitement the I normally associate with Star Trek but I still thought it read as an interesting character study. Goodman’s writing is entertaining and fun in a way that I’ve never found in an ‘autobiography’ before. This book definitely changed the way I view Kirk as a character and I can’t wait to maybe rewatch the series. I’d definitely recommend picking it up if you’re a Star Trek fan! 🙂

One thought on “REVIEW – The Autobiography of James T. Kirk by David Goodman

Leave a Reply

