September Wrap Up/Mini Reviews

This is a little bit late but oh well. I read a total of 6 books during September, 3 of those graphic novels so I had a fairly decent reading month. To find out more about each book click the title link as it will lead you to Goodreads. Hopefully I can read just as much, if not more, during October!

The Autobiography of James T. Kirk by David Goodman ★ ★ ★  ★ ☆

My full review is up here if you’d like to find out my thoughts.

The Wicked + The Divine Volume 1 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson and Clayton Cowles ★ ★ ★  ★ ☆

This was a pretty solid start to an interesting series. I loved the ‘Gods as superstars’ aspect and how it came into play throughout as it’s something completely different from other graphic novels and actual novels that I’ve read. Though I did enjoy the art and the setting, I  felt it lacked a bit of actual world-building as sometimes I was left confused with how things happened. Still, I really enjoyed the plot and the array of characters as it was really fun and unique.

The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and Other Stories by Tim Burton ★ ★ ★  ★ ☆

This book was strangely adorable, it’s a compilation of poems and limericks and stories by the famous Tim Burton. In his obvious style it’s creepy and cute and full of dark humour. The little pieces of art that go alongside each piece of writing match up to the really interesting style of the rest of the book.

Rat Queens Volume 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch ★ ★ ★  ★ ☆ (4.5)

I’d heard mixed things about Rat Queens and was unsure whether to pick it up due to some controversy but I’m so glad I gave it a chance! I enjoyed the art style but most of all I loved the individual characterisation of all of the characters and the friendship they shared, it was so nice to read about positive female relationships. The plot was fast paced and fun and I also found the world building really easy to follow. I’m definitely hoping to pick up volume 2 very soon as the ending was a cliffhanger that I need resolved.

Copperhead Volume 1 by Jay Faerber, Scott Godlewski and Ron Riley ★ ★ ★  ★ ☆

I’d never heard of this TPB before I saw it in my Amazon recommendations and since it was such a cheap price I decided to give it a go and I actually really liked it. It reminded me of the TV show ‘Defiance’ in a way, probably because of the combination of Science-Fiction and the ‘Sheriff’ aspect. I’m interested to see where the plot goes, especially where the character of Clara as I really enjoyed her perspective.

Demon Road by Derek Landy ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
This book is one of the best books I’ve read this year. I read a most of Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant books when I was still in school and loved them and had no doubt I’d like his newest work as well, but I absolutely loved it. His writing style is just so witty and entertaining that it was one of those rare books  that I couldn’t stop reading and made me smile throughout. I may do a full in-depth review in the future but for now I definitely recommend picking this book up!

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these and what you thought! 🙂

One thought on “September Wrap Up/Mini Reviews

Leave a Reply

