October Wrap Up

Sorry that this is up so late! I’ve been so busy for the last month or so with personal stuff that I’ve been neglecting my blog but hopefully get back on track soon. Despite my business I actually got a fair bit of reading done during October and a fair few of them were on my TBR which is great as I’ve been trying to stick to my monthly TBR’s. Hopefully I can continue my reading into November but for now here’s what I read during the month of October.

The Farseer Trilogy – 

  • Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
  • Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
  • Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    I’m thinking of doing an entire series review on The Farseer Trilogy because I absolutely loved it. It’s definitely one of my favourite series of all time now and I’ve started the next series already because Robin Hobb’s writing is just so compelling. Look out for a series review in the near future!

Lumberjanes Volume 1 by Noelle Stevenson ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

This was a pretty good start to what should be a really entertaining series. I love the diverse set of female characters and the friendships and just generally the feel good vibe of the whole book, it’s such a fun read! I’m definitely going to buy Volume 2 as I want to see how the plot and the characters develop over time.

The Martian by Andy Weir ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4.5)

I actually enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected to, the plot was fast paced and entertaining and I enjoyed Mark’s narrative. Sometimes the scientific terminology and information dragged a little and I just wanted to know what would happen so I skimmed a little bit but overall it was a pretty good book. It’s a mixed bag of humour and survival which combined with Andy Weir’s writing style I thought worked perfectly and I can’t wait to see the film.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4.5)

The Young Elites is such a unique book, it’s completely unlike a lot of fantasy novels I’ve read. It’s different because the main protagonist is actually not a good person so her perspective was an interesting one to read from as on one hand you’re rooting for her and on the other you’re like she really shouldn’t be doing this. I just enjoyed how dark this novel was as it’s something different to what I’m used to and made for a really compelling read. I can’t wait to read The Rose Society!

I’ve also nearly finished The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers so I’ll post a review as soon as I’ve finished.

Leave a Reply

