Top 5 Books of 2015

I read a lot of great books in 2015 but a few were especially amazing do I thought I’d share my favourite books of 2015. I hope you enjoy! (Sorry for any formatting issues on mobile!)

CarolCarol by Patricia Highsmith

A lovely, heartwarming book set in 1950’s New York starring Therese, a shop assistant at the doll department in a toy shop and the developing relationship she shares with Carol, an elegant soon to be divorced mother of one. It’s such a beautiful story and I highly recommend it alongside the film version that was recently released.
nimonaNimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona is a hilariously entertaining graphic novel centered around the adventures of ‘villain’ Lord Ballister Blackheart and his ‘sidekick’ Nimona. It’s actually a lot deeper than I initially expected and both the art and writing are lovely.
ASsassins apprenticeAssassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb (and the rest of the Farseer trilogy) 

The Farseer trilogy is one of my favourite series of all time. This book stars Fitz, bastard son of the king in waiting and his journey from young boy to assassin in training. It’s a beautifully written and incredible book and the storytelling kept me gripped from the first page. This book has definitely made me love epic fantasy all the more and I recommend it to everybody.
Demon roadDemon Road by Derek Landy

I read this book towards the end of 2015 and I just really enjoyed it. It’s sort of a road trip book but with fantastical elements as the main character, Amber is forced to go on the run when she discovers not everything in her life is as it seems. Landy’s witty humour and fun writing just made this book all the more enjoyable.
long way to a small angry planetThe Long Way to A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

I actually have a full review of this book here in case you’d like to see more of my thoughts. To summarise though this book is a phenomenal science fiction novel that I absolutely loved. It focuses on a group of space travelers as they take on their hardest job yet and is very character centred. I just really loved it!
Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these/your favourite books of 2015! 🙂

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

