December Wrap Up

I read a total of 5 books during December which I’m pretty pleased with seeing as everything was hectic with Christmas so hopefully I can read just as much if not more during January. The books I read were –

Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I really enjoyed this book but it just wasn’t quite as amazing as I was expecting after the Farseer trilogy. I enjoyed some POV’s more than others and the plot took me a while to get used to but it was still a really interesting and entertaining read nonetheless.

The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I actually enjoyed this book quite a bit more than Ship of Magic, it developed the plot ideas presented in the first book and made for a really great read. I really enjoyed the backstory of the Liveships and the Rain Wild traders,  Robin Hobb’s worldbuilding and writing are both phenomenal.

Carol by Patricia Highsmith  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I wrote about this book as one of the best I read during the year in this post here so feel free to check that out if you’d like to know more of my thoughts. To summarise Carol is a lovely, heartwarming romance novel that I highly recommend.

My True Love Gave To Me – Edited by Stephanie Perkins ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I read the first half of this book last December and finished the second half this year. I haven’t read many short story collections but I actually really liked this one. There were some stories I enjoyed more than others such as Holly Black’s, Rainbow Rowell’s etc but they were all really nice holiday stories that got me in the Christmas spirit.

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Snow Child is a perfect mix of magical realism, family drama and romance. It tells the story of a middle aged couple who live in a cabin in 1920’s Alaska who are visited by a girl every winter, the story frequently ties into a fairytale about a girl built out of snow. It’s a heartwarming story about a couple repairing their relationship again with the help of a little girl. I may do a full review in the future as this was a review copy.

I also started The Bronze Horseman by Paulina Simmons and Ship of Destiny by Robin Hobb during December so they’ll both be in my January Wrap Up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

