Top Ten Tuesday | Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where a different ‘challenge’ for a list of ten books/bookish things is set each week. This weeks topic is ‘Top Ten Books I Recently Added to my TBR’. I’ve found some really interesting books recently and hopefully I’ll be able to pick them up sometime in the future. For more information on each book, select the name of the book to be linked through to the Goodreads page. Sorry if this post is a bit long and has a lot of mistakes as this was kind of last minute! (Also there may be a formatting issues as I get used to this new theme.)


1 – The Second Footman by Jasper Barry 
The Second Footman

I discovered this book on my Amazon Recommendations and when I looked into it it sounded absolutely amazing. I love historical fiction and the protagonist, Max seems like a really interesting character. Max is involved in some sort of fraud and he manages to find an accomplice in the form of an aristocratic patron to somehow change his circumstances from that of a footman. I love historical intrigue!

2 – In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero and Michelle Burford – Release Date : May 3rd 2016 

In the Country we love

I love Diane Guerrero in OITNB and I can’t wait to watch Jane the Virgin (which she stars in). Diane Guerrero writes about her family’s deportation from America when she was 14 years old which left her to stay with family friends so she could continue her education. In the Country We Love focuses on Diane Guerrero’s life and struggles whilst discussing how she became the amazing actress she is today.

3 – Captive Prince by S. U. Pascat

captive prince

I’ve known about this book for a while but I’ve only just recently added it to my TBR as I’ve been hearing some great things lately. It seems to involve political intrigue and has a really dark storyline so I’m really looking forward to it. The protagonist Damen is stripped of his titles as heir of Akielos and sent to serve as a slave to Prince Laurent which obviously leads to a lot of drama as Damen fights to keep his true identity secret.

4 – Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey

leviathan wakes

I’ve been wanting to watch the TV adaptation of Leviathan Wakes which is called Expanse and since I usually read the book before watching any adaptation I thought I’d do the same in this instance. This book is a space opera starring two characters, Jim Holden, an ice miner and a Detective Miller who are driven together after both of there lives lead to a ship called The Scopuli. I can’t wait to get to this!

5 – Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner

swordspoint

I remember seeing some sort of web series trailer involving this book a while ago and I see it on a lot of LGBT fantasy lists so I was really intrigued to see what it was about. It seems like a cheesy feel good epic fantasy about Vier, a swordsman and his relationship with a Alec, a scholar. I’ve heard mixed things but I’m still pretty excited.

6 – Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

perdido street station

I’ve always wanted to read a China Miéville novel and Perdido Street Station seems to be a pretty popular one of his. I’m not entirely sure what it’s about if I’m honest but I know it involves steampunk (which I haven’t read before) and some sort of half-bird half-human creature. I’m really intrigued to get this though!

 

7 – This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

this is where it ends

This Is Where It Ends was really popular on Twitter leading up to it’s release date and has received some rave reviews and some slightly negative reviews lately. Either way the plot sounds interesting as I haven’t read a book on a school shooting and I’m looking forward to seeing how Nijkamp handles such a sensitive subject. I also follow Marieke Nijkamp on Twitter and love her tweets so I’m expecting to love this book just as much.

8 – This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman

this shattered world

I read These Broken Stars recently and gave it 4.5 stars so I’d like to see how this universe is developed in this companion novel. I’m going in blind  by not looking at the synopsis but from the beautiful cover I have a feeling it’s going to be pretty good. I love science fiction and I enjoyed the writing style in the previous novel.

 

9 – Warchild by Karen Lowachee

warchild

Another science fiction novel which I’ve added to my TBR recently. It involves a boy whose family is killed when he is a child and he is then kidnapped by the killers, he later escapes and becomes a spy for the aliens who he is ‘rescued’ by. It seems like an exciting, character-driven novel with the added benefit of being set in space. It’s kind of hard to get a hold of so I may see if my local library can get a copy.

10 – Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction by Jeff VanderMeer

Wonderbook_Case_r2.indd

I’ve been wanting to start writing again,  and this book seems like the perfect writing guide for fantasy lovers. It’s fully illustrated and has pretty good reviews so I’d love to add it to my collection. I’ve also wanted to read Jeff VanderMeer’s fiction novels so this’ll give me an idea of what to expect and also a look into his thought process which I find interesting.

 


So these are the books I’ve recently added to my TBR! Link me to your TTT posts in the comments and let me know if you’ve read any of the books listed above. 🙂

Leave a Reply

