January Wrap Up

Hello! During January I read a total of 11 books which I’m pretty happy with as it puts me quite a bit ahead in my Goodreads challenge of 52 books. I’m also happy because I was able to read all of my TBR books expect one (which I couldn’t seem to find) as well as a few other interesting books. (Sorry if the formatting on mobile is a bit strange!)


 

bronzeThe Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
This was a heartwrenching read centered around an epic romance between a soldier, Alexander and a civilian, Tatiana in in WWII Russia. It’s such an emotionally wrought story and Simon’s writes beautifully. The romance isn’t exactly what I would call healthy but the drama of the situation just gripped me from start to finish. Such an interesting read!

 

Ship of DestinyShip of Destiny by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
This was the final book in the Liveship Traders series and it was a good ending to a great series. I won’t spoil it but I wasn’t a fan of certain parts of the plot towards the end but it was a good read nonetheless. I’m happy with how a lot of plots points wrapped up and I can’t wait to maybe see some of these characters again in the future.

 

Tatiana and AlexanderTatiana and Alexander by Paullina Simons ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Though I enjoyed this book it wasn’t quite as gripping as the first book and the writing seemed somewhat plainer. I also enjoyed Tatiana’s chapters a lot more than Alexander’s, the more I read from him the more I dislike him, they’re relationship really isn’t healthy. Despite this as with The Bronze Horseman, the drama is too good to resist and I sped through it.

 

the secret of the old clockThe Secret of the Old Clock by Carolyn Keene ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (Maybe 3.5)
I’ve always wanted to read the Nancy Drew books from the beginning so I decided I’d finally start to read them this year. It was a quick, fun read and though it was slightly predictable and a bit outdated I still really want to continue on with the series to see where it goes.

 

 

UnteachableUnteachable by Leah Raeder (Elliot Wake) ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
This book was an interesting read. Whilst the writing style was fluid and entertaining the main relationship (student/teacher) just made me kinda uncomfortable though I did know what it was about going in. I don’t know if it was the age gap or the power imbalance but that’s just me. As a book though it was an entertaining and gripping overall and I can’t wait to read more from Elliot Wake.

 

landlineLandline by Rainbow Rowell ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (Maybe 3.5)
This is the second book I’ve read of Rainbow Rowell’s and it’s made me want to read even more. I love magical realism so I definitely loved that aspect of this book though I do wish it had been developed a little bit more. I enjoyed the exploration of Georgie’s marriage and the look into her writing career. Overall it was a pretty good book.

 

these broken starsThese Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4.5)
I actually really liked this book a lot. I loved how survival focused this book was and that the bond that developed between the two main characters seems really genuine. It also had a lot more depth than I expected and as more and more secrets were revealed it became more and more intriguing. I can’t wait to read the next book!

 

Fool's ErrandFool’s Errand by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Fool’s Errand was incredible! I love the Fitz/Fool relationship, they’re hilariously sweet together and the scenes between them are incredible. I wont spoil it for anybody who hasn’t read this series but it’s devastating and phenomenal, I loved it! So many new things are introduced and as always Robin Hobb writes amazingly.

 

The Golden FoolThe Golden Fool by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Again, the Fitz/Fool bond was quite a big focus throughout the book which I loved and the plot was perfectly paced and Hobb’s writing kept me gripped throughout. I enjoyed seeing Fitz rekindling his old friendships and the family dynamic. It’s a great continuation from Fool’s Errand and I sped through it to get to Fool’s Fate. I just really loved this book!

 

Fool’s Fate by Robin Hobb ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4/4.5) *Minor fools fateSpoilers*
This book was devestating in both positive and negative ways. The relationships and the return of old characters – positive, the ending – negative. Though I was hoping for a Fitz/Fool ending I would have been satisfied with Fitz finding new happiness but it didn’t happen and it felt a little cop-outish and slightly strange. I was happy to see Molly’s character again though as I loved her in the Farseer Triogy. I still loved the actual plot though and I can’t wait  to get back to the Fitz storyline.

luck in the shadowsLuck in the Shadows ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
I loved this book! It’s a great epic fantasy with loads of intriguing and complex characters. I actually did a full review here in case anybody would like to know more.

 

 


So these are the books that I read during January! I read a lot of pretty good books in January so hopefully February is the same. Feel free to let me know in the comments what you think of these books! Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

