6 Series I’d Like to Finish/Catch Up On in 2016

Hello! Sorry for the lack of updates, I’ve been a little swamped recently and I haven’t been able to write much so I figured I’d post something that’s been in my drafts for a while. I know this is a bit late in the year for this sort of post but all of these books are still on my 2016 TBR – anyway, better late than never! 🙂

The Realm of the Elderlings series by Robin Hobb 

I only have The Rain Wild Chronicles and the Fitz and the Fool series (which is currently ongoing) left to read so this is a pretty achievable goal as I’ve been reading them consecutively since I started last year. I love these books though (especially the Fitz and the Fool ones) so I definitely recommend them to everybody.

The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater 

I read The Raven Boys towards the end of 2015 and really enjoyed it so I’m hoping to catch up with the series in time for The Raven King. The first book was pretty fast paced so hopefully I can speed through it as they seem like really entertaining books and I loved the first one.

A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin

I read the first book, A Game of Thrones before I even started my book blog and I own the whole box set so I really need to carry on with this series. Another reason is that I also want to catch up with the show but I’d rather read the books first.

The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I read Throne of Glass when I first started getting into books (and booktube) again and I really liked it. I own the rest of the series and I met S J Maas a few months ago and she was lovely which makes me want to catch up all the more. I also want to read ACOTAR by her!

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I’ve read Cinder and Scarlet in this series and I own Cress, the only reason I stopped reading the series was because I didn’t have a copy of Cress so now I don’t have an excuse! The first two books were really fun from what I remember so I can’t wait to see what happens and how the series is resolved in Winter.

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Again I read the first two but didn’t own the third which prevented me from carrying on with the series but I recently picked up a copy of Ruin and Rising so I may re-read the first two before getting to the last one. I actually reviewed Shadow and Bone when I  first started my blog which you can find here. I also really want to read Six of Crows as well.

Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these series and what you though! I’m also looking for some recommendations of series to read so if you have any then let me know. Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “6 Series I’d Like to Finish/Catch Up On in 2016

  1. I’ve read all of these series except the Robin Hobb. I would order them, in order of enjoyability:
    1. Lunar Chronicles (most enjoyable and fun. And Cress is great because it has extra helpings of Captain Thorne!)
    2. Throne of Glass (not quite as fun and fluffy as the Lunar Chronicles but highly entertaining and addictive)
    3. Game of Thrones (the first two books are the best though)
    3. Raven Boys (equally as enjoyable as Game of Thrones and far easier to read. I’m currently on Blue Lily, Lily Blue and it’s as good as book 1, I thought book 2 was the “weak” installment).
    4. The Grisha (if you’ve only one left then it’s probably worth finishing. But you could just skip straight to Six of Crows which is brilliant!)

    Whatever you read next, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment! I definitely do want to get to Cress soon, it’s such a great series so far! I’ve heard Six of Crows is amazing so I want to pick that up soon too. So many great books to read this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

