Mini Reviews #5 – My Everything, Vanishing Girls and The Mirror World of Melody Black

Hello! I’ve received quite a few review copies since starting this blog and haven’t had a chance to share my thoughts on all of them so I figured I’d do another ‘Mini Reviews’ post to share some of quick opinions on them. All of these books were sent to me via bookbridgr in exchange for honest reviews. I hope you enjoy!


my everything

My Everything by Katie Marsh  ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (3.5)
This was actually a fairly good book and definitely not what I was expecting. My Everything centres around a woman named Hannah who is left caring for 32 year old husband Tom who recently suffered from a stroke. The thing is, Hannah was planning on leaving Tom the same day that he had his stroke. This obviously leads to a lot of internalised struggle as Hannah is torn between leaving her ill husband or trying to make their marriage work. I actually liked Hannah and I really empathised with her but ultimately I just didn’t like where the story went in terms of the Tom/Hannah relationship. I did enjoy the writing and the plot up to a point though as it was actually quite fluid and entertaining. As I said though the ending wasn’t what I wanted and I really disliked Tom’s character so that’s why I gave it 3.5 stars.

Vanishing GirlsVanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
This was my first Lauren Oliver book and it definitely made a good impression. Twins, Dara and Nick haven’t really spoken since an accident that left Dara scarred and their relationship severely damaged. On their birthday however, Dara goes missing as well as a 9 year old girl. This leads to Nick investigating as she suspects the disappearances are linked. Vanishing Girls is such a gripping novel, Lauren Oliver writes dysfunctional relationships and thrillers so well that I didn’t see any of the twists coming and I just enjoyed every second of it. I did prefer Dara’s perspective over Nick’s however as I found her character a lot more likeable (and far less judgmental) which is one of the reasons I didn’t give this 5 stars. Another reason was the ‘romance’ which I just found generally a bit strange/unhealthy. I really want to read more Lauren Oliver books in the future though because I loved her writing style!

mirror world of melody blackThe Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4.5)
As with Vanishing Girls this was the first book I read of this author and again it’s definitely made me want to pick up more. This book is about a woman named Abby, a journalist suffering from bipolar disorder who finds her next door neighbour dead. This event is the kickstarter for a lot of the events in the book as Abby deals with what she saw and with how her actions affect the people around her. For me Abby was so easy to understand and relate to and I found her character so interesting. I can’t say much without spoiling the plot but it’s such a complex  and heart wrenching read that I couldn’t put it down and I definitely recommend picking up a copy.


Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

