April Wrap Up/Half Bad Trilogy Review

Hello! During April I managed to read 3 books and all of those books were part of the Half Bad series by Sally Green so this wrap up is also kind of a series review. Sorry for any errors as I’ve been trying to finish this for ages and I wanted to get it up as soon as possible. Anyway, enjoy!

half badHalf Bad ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
I really enjoyed this book, it was a pretty good start to the series and definitely made me want to read on. It focuses on Nathan who is the only half-black, half-white witch in the world which is a struggle as black witches are being hunted and his white side is the only thing keeping him alive, as well as the fact that his father is the most powerful black witch to ever exist. It’s a fun if slightly cheesy urban fantasy book and I couldn’t put it down once I started. It also ends on a great cliffhanger so I had to go out the next day and buy the rest of the series.

half wildHalf Wild ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
This book was just as good, if not better than the previous book and maintained the fun, fast paced atmosphere that Green created in the first book. I loved the twists and turns both with the romance and Nathan’s own gifts and how Green really got to grips with Nathan’s internal struggle. Without spoiling anything Nathan builds a few new relationships in this installment (familial and romantic) and I just really enjoyed seeing another side to Nathan that these relationships brought out. I just really loved this one and I was really excited to continue on with the series which leads me to…

half lostHalf Lost ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆  (2.5)
This was a huge letdown for me if I’m being honest and it actually upset me a bit seeing how Sally Green followed the typical tropes when it comes to writing LGBT characters.Up until the ending I was loving the book and if there hadn’t been a huge U-Turn at the end then this would have been a 5 star read. I’ll try not to spoil anything but sadly Half Lost just fell short of my expectations and Sally Green really let me down with the way she ended this series. I have a lot more feelings on this subject, especially due to how her treatment of Nathan and Gabriel ties into what other writers have been doing with their characters but for now I’ll just say  that I’d give the last book a pass if you were hoping for an ending that these characters deserved.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “April Wrap Up/Half Bad Trilogy Review

  1. Oh dear, I liked the first volume a lot and from what you wrote I should pretty much stop at that because if I’ll read the second I’ll simply have to read the last.

Leave a Reply

