May Wrap Up

I read a total of 6 books in May and I absolutely loved every single one of them so it was a great reading month for me! I’m a few books ahead in my Goodreads reading challenge so I’m hoping to read just as many if not more in June. Sorry if these reviews are a bit rambly I’m trying to get used to writing them again! To find out more about each book click the title link for the Goodreads page as these are just my thoughts. Anyway, the books I read were –

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

This was a beautifully written book with relatable and easy to love characters that I just connected with from the outset. I enjoyed Lou’s character, especially her relationship with her sister as sometimes books don’t really get how up and down that can be and sisters always seem to be the best of friends. I just thought it was a really sweet story but I’m not sure if I’m completely comfortable with the ending as there have been a lot of discussions of ableism surrounding the book which I (coming from a place of privilege) can’t really comment on. I do really want to see how they’ve transferred this book to film though so I may have to go see it. I also really want to check out the sequel.

Soulless by Gail Carriger (Parasol Protectorate #1) ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (4.5)

It’s been so long since I’ve read a paranormal book and I’m so glad I chose this one to re-introduce me to the genre. This book has such a great cast of characters from the hilarious Alexia to the resigned Professor Lyall and I enjoyed every single one of them (with the exception of Conall at times). Gail Carriger has a way of writing that just can make you laugh and cry within a span of a few sentences and I love how witty Alexia’s character is. Soulless was just a really fun read and I definitely recommend picking it up if you’re looking for something a bit different from your usual reads.

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Unsurprisingly this book was just as good, if not better than it’s predecessor Soulless and I loved it from start to finish. I’m going to try to avoid spoilers but the introduction of Madame Lefoux’s character was just what the series needed to bump it up to 5 stars as she bought a different type of humour and intrigue to the book. Again I wasn’t a huge Conall fan but I can look past that just so I can read more about Alexia’s adventures and watch her character grow even more than she has from the previous book.

Blameless (Parasol Protectorate #3) ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Another great book from Gail Carriger and definitely a great addition to the series. I enjoyed how this book explored Alexia’s independence from Conall as well as her relationships with both Madame Lefoux and Floote. I also liked how Professor Lyall’s character was explored in more detail as we went from Alexia’s POV to his and I’m really curious to see what happens with Biffy! I can’t wait for the next book to arrive as I’m in love with this series so far.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

LWTO was such a engaging and interesting book that gripped me immediately. The combination of the historical setting of 1950’s America with the endearing romance between the two protagonists meant that both girls had different prejudices to deal with. Within this book Sarah has to face all of the racism thrown at her by classmates and teachers and society in general, the pressure from her family and her crush on Linda whilst Linda has to deal with her internalised racism, abusive past and the fact that she’s falling for Sarah and somehow this brings them both closer together. I’ll admit that Sarah was my favourite out of the two but I really appreciated how fully Robin Talley fleshed out these characters and really gave them a chance to shine.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Amanda was an amazing character and If I Was Your Girl was one of the most entertaining books I’ve read in a while. I loved Meredith Russo’s writing and the way she made Amanda such a realistic and loveable character just made me love her immediately. With some books the authors focus so much on the protagonist that other characters get left behind but Meredith Russo didn’t make that mistake, all of her characters had individuality and I loved the different types of relationships Amanda formed with each one of them, especially with Grant (the LI). The romance was sweet and cliché but in the most positive way possible as they respected each others boundaries and genuinely liked each other, I’m so sick of the ‘bad boy’ character that appears in a lot of fiction and treats their girlfriend terribly and Grant was the complete opposite of that. The ending was sad but I appreciated how the author didn’t make that seem like the end for Amanda and I’d love if she wrote a sequel.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

