June Wrap Up/Book Haul

Sadly I was only able to read 2 books last month though I was hoping for more. It was a pretty hectic month for me and I was also in a bit of a reading slump after binge reading most of the Parasol Protectorate series so hopefully things will look up a bit this month and I manage to get more reading done. Despite this the books that I did read were excellent and they were –

In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was an absolutely phenomenal book despite the fact it was so heart-breaking and sometimes difficult to read. It educated me on a lot of things that I wasn’t knowledgeable about before, not only North Korea as a whole but the sex trade within China and the treatment of victims of the North Korean regime. It’s such a hard book to read due to how distressing it can be but it’s definitely worth it as Yeonmi Park fights to become the amazing activist she is today. I definitely recommend picking this one up!

Heartless by Gail Carriger ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Like all the Gail Carriger books I’ve read before, I loved this. As always Alexia and Co. were hilarious and intriguing to read about and I loved some of the things that developed in this book and how they affected the group dynamic as a whole. I don’t want to spoil it so I’ll say no more but I definitely think this series is worth a read if you’re into the paranormal genre or looking for something fun to read.


Since I didn’t get much reading done in June I figured I’d include the books I picked up in this post as well! Here are the books I picked up in June-

JUNE HAUL.JPG

Art is Dead – The asdf Book by Thomas Ridgewelll

Black Widow – Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

Beloved by Toni Morrison

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

A Court of Mist and Fury  by Sarah J Maas (I just realised this was in last months haul as well. Sorry!)

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Girl with Seven Names: A North Korean Defector’s Story by Hyeonseo Lee

Highly Illogical Behaviour by John Corey Whaley

Heartless by Gail Carriger

Timeless by Gail Carriger

You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Easy by Tammara Webber

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Fell by Jenn Ashworth

Lizzy Bennett’s Diary by Marcia Williams

DC Bombshells Volume 1 by Marguerite Bennett and Marguerite Sauvage

Thanks for reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “June Wrap Up/Book Haul

Leave a Reply

