August Wrap Up

I’ve finally have time to post my August wrap up! I’ve been a little busy recently (mainly because of the new Fallout 4 DLC’s) so I’m posting this a little late which I hope is okay. Anyway last month I managed to read 11 books which is pretty good for me especially as I only managed to read 1 the month before. I’ve just been reading a lot more than I normally do recently so I’m hoping to keep reading this way during September as well. So! The books I read during August were –

Timeless by Gail Carriger ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A great end to a great series! I really enjoyed this book as it explored Alexia’s relationships with her new family and also her discovering some things about her past family. I also liked how it explored some of the side characters such as Biffy and Ivy as I love them both. I don’t want to say much in case I spoil it but I definitely recommend picking this book up! I can’t wait to start reading the spin off books in the Finishing School series.

The Girls by Emma Cline ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I’m actually going to be posting a full review of this book soon!  I loved it though and definitely recommend it but I’ll talk about my thoughts more in my review.

Monstress Volume 1  by Marjorie Lu ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ (3.5)

Monstress was great but slightly confusing, like most graphic novels it drops you in at the deep end and it sometimes left me wondering what was going on. It had a really interesting epic fantasy plot with an amazing female character but sometimes the actual backstory wasn’t easy to follow. The art was absolutely beautiful though and I did really enjoy it. I’ll probably pick up the next volume once it comes out.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This book was phenomenal! The writing was beautiful and the plot flowed so beautifully and I couldn’t stop reading once I started. The main protagonist, Yeine was such a fascinating, strong character and her transition from the leader of a small settlement to heiress to the king was really interesting to read about. I loved Jemisin’s inclusion of the gods, the world and backstory she built was so intricately designed that I had to keep reading until I found out what happened. I also loved the poly relationship inclusion too, there should be way more in fiction. I ordered the second book as soon as I finished this one and I can’t wait to read it!

Daughter of the Forest by Juliette Marillier  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

After reading The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms I was in the mood for more fantasy so I picked up Daughter of the Forest as it seems to be a staple in all of the epic fantasy recommendation lists I’ve read and I know why. It’s exactly what you’d expect out of an epic fantasy book, great world building, interesting characters and a compelling plot. As it’s a retelling of  ‘The Six Swans’ fairy tale it had a certain magical and homely atmosphere to it which I loved.

Far From You by Tess Sharpe  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This was such an amazing book! Definitely a new favourite! It’s such an intriguing mystery about a girl, Sophie who is just leaving rehab and is on a mission to solve a murder she was witness to. I loved how it flicked from current events to the past to reveal what lead up to each moment and it’s so genuinely fascinating. I thought Sophie’s relationship with Mina was really heart wrenching and was glad the author didn’t act as if Sophie wasn’t affected by what had happened and actually dealt with the emotional aftermath. I really loved it and the mystery of who the killer was left me gripped to the end.

Grimspace by Ann Aguirre ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I was really craving a great science fiction book and I’m so glad I chose this to read. I liked the main character, Sirantha a lot and I thought her power, the ability to jump through ‘grimspace’ was really unique and created a lot of interesting situations. Sirantha is struggling after her ship crash lands leaving everybody, including her boyfriend, dead and she absolutely has no memory of it. Once arrested for this crash she is then freed by a group of people who, like the her previous employers want to use her for their own means. I just found this book really fun and compelling, I loved all of the characters and though I wasn’t such a huge fan of the romance I still couldn’t stop reading. I can’t wait to pick up the next book!

Wonder Woman – Love and Murder by Jodi Picoult ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ (2.5)

I picked this up from the library on a whim because I love Wonder Woman but it really didn’t do it for me. It’s always hard to get into comics because of the multiple storylines but this just seemed a lot less coherent than the rest. I felt like WW’s character wasn’t given the writing she deserved and there was to much focus on her relationship, Nemesis rather than the consequences of her previous actions. I’m also kinda sick of the whole pitting great female characters against each other to sell more copies as it really reduces Wonder Woman’s character to someone I can’t recognise. The art is really beautiful though so I guess that’s a selling point!

Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan  ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is such a perfect summer romance read! I needed something cute and fun after reading a lot of dark and sometimes slow build SFF books and this definitely fit the bill. Though it’s sweet and fun it does explore some deeper subjects such as unhealthy relationships whilst dealing with the otherwise normal high school drama. Leila has to deal with a lot, her parents expectations of her, her sexuality and shifting social groups and she’s still such a sweet and funny character despite the hardships she’s been dealt. I also loved her developing relationship which I won’t spoil, I thought it was really raw and real compared to her previous relationship and this book just contained such a great cast of characters that you can’t help but love.

In the Woods by Tana French ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I’m not normally a huge reader of crime novels but In the Woods left me with a newfound love for the genre. I went into it without knowing what it was really about and I think that made it all the better as most of the plot was a mystery to me. I don’t want to spoil too much but it focuses on the murder investigation of a young girl in a small Irish town.The lead detective, Rob notices the similarities to a missing persons case that he was involved in as a child and tries to search for the answers about his past. The end wasn’t exactly what I wanted as it left some questions unanswered which is why I didn’t give it 5 stars.

The Likeness by Tana French ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is the ‘sequel’ to In the Woods though it is more of a companion novel. It’s set a bit after the first book but focuses on Rob’s partner, Cassie when she’s faced with a dead body that looks almost identical to her own, using an undercover identity she once used. I honestly loved this book and everything in it. I loved the group dynamic that’s included and the actual investigation itself is so intriguing. I just really loved this book and it’s definitely a new favourite. I can’t wait to read the next book from her ex-boss Frank’s point of view as he was a really interesting character.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

