Autumn TBR

Hello! Since it’s now autumn I thought I’d do a quick post to remind myself to read these five books during the season. I always like to read more thriller and historical books so you’ll probably notice a theme on my TBR. Hopefully I’ll have read these by the end of the year at the very least. If you’d like to find out more about each book I’ve linked the Goodreads pages in the titles. Anyway, the books I’d like to read in Autumn are –

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

I’ve owned this book for quite a while and recently I’ve been thinking about it a lot as the blurb is so interesting.  From what I can gather it’s about a girl named Westie and when she was a child cannibals took her arm and her family whilst they traveled a wagon trail and she is now seeking revenge. She is then adopted by an inventor named Nigel who goes onto build a machine that can harvest magic from gold, there is a problem though – the main investors in Nigel’s invention seem to Westie to be the family that killed hers and took her arm. The book seems to focus on Westie’s adventure to prove their guilt and possibly get revenge for her family. Doesn’t that sound amazing? I definitely want to pick this one up as soon as possible.

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows and Brodi Ashton

I picked this up not too long ago after hearing a lot of buzz on twitter and the inner history buff in me couldn’t resist. It’s a funny and fantastical retelling of the adventures of Lady Jane Grey – the nine day queen. I love historical fiction and retellings as they always bring something new to a sometimes stale subject even if it doesn’t exactly tell the truth. I’m also looking forward to seeing how having three different authors changes the storytelling.

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Again, another book I’ve had for a while but I’m still really excited to read. I follow the author, Marieke Nijkamp on twitter and immediately wanted to read This Is Where It Ends when she announced it as I love her tweets. The focus of this book is a school shooting and is told from the perspective of four different people at said school. I don’t know much else about it as I really want to go into this book without preconceptions but I think this is going to be a really gripping read.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Though I’ve had this on my TBR for ages I recently read The Likeness by Tana French and it is now one of my favourite books and every book list I’ve seen says people who love that will love The Secret History. I actually don’t know much about the plot as I kind of want to go in without knowing anything but from what I can gather it involves a group of students and a murder. That’s all I know but it’s more than enough for me to want to read it ASAP!

The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

To be honest my main reason for wanting to read this book sooner rather than later is that I really want to see the film. I love anything zombie related so once I saw the trailer I knew that I needed to watch it (it was amazing and Gemma Arterton is in it!) but I usually like to read the book beforehand so I think I might read this book next.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

