WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. This meme involves answering three questions. What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you’re going to read next? I figured I’d just give a quick reading update despite my semi-hiatus as I’ve kind of missed posting about books.

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading a few books at the moment but the one I’m primarily focusing on and really enjoying is Defender by G. X. Todd. It’s set in a post-apocalyptic world where one day voices appeared in the heads of the majority of the population driving them to do terrible things which lead to collapse of society and the world as we know it. Defender focuses on our two protagonists Pilgrim and Lacey and switches between their POV’s. Pilgrim is a man who has been hardened by the world around him and stays far away from people due to the voice in his head until he meets Lacey on the side of the road. Lacey has been pretty much sheltered by her grandmother from what has happened in the world and has lived a relatively safe life since the start of the apocalypse. She only ventures out of the safe haven of her farm house once her grandmother dies which then leads to her meeting Pilgrim when she looks for somebody to give her a ride to find her sister. I’m around half way through and it’s really interesting so far, it’s been pulling me out of my reading slump. The plot is fast paced and so fun to read and I can’t wait to find out how the story unfolds. A quick disclaimer though, I was sent my copy of the book unsolicited from the publisher though obviously this won’t change my opinion. If this does sound interesting to you though Defender comes out in January 2017 and so far I definitely recommend checking it out. My review should be out late December/early January.  (TW – This book contains graphic violence and rape. Feel free to ask if you’d like to know about anymore possible triggers.)

What did you recently finish reading?

I wouldn’t say I recently finished this but the last book I was able to finish was 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. I gave this four stars and it was a pretty fun, quick read. It’s a science fiction book that centres around a group of teenagers that win a trip to the moon but pretty soon it’s revealed not all is what it seems. I liked it well enough but I thought the ending seemed a bit rushed and didn’t really live up to my expectations. It also contains little photos and articles which I found really added to my reading experience.

What do you think you’re going to read next?

I’m not exactly sure what to read next but I know I want to read a stand alone as I’m falling behind on a lot of series. I think I might read Fingersmith by Sarah Waters because I’ve been wanting to read it for ages and even though I’ve been spoiled for the plot twist it seems like a really great book. Sarah Waters is supposed to be an amazing writer so I can”t wait to finally read one of her books and hopefully have a new author to read as I own all of her books.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

