March – July Wrap Up

Hello! I haven’t done a wrap up in ages so I figured I’d make this month’s an all in one  to share what books I’ve been reading over the past few months and my thoughts on them. Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ *

Honestly, this book started off being a five-star read. It had the perfect mix of atmosphere and intriguing characters, especially the protagonist Catherine (aka the Red Queen) as she was such a likeable character and I was really invested in her story and her journey to becoming the Red Queen I know (and love) from Alice in Wonderland. However as the story continued I felt like the plot and characterisation both became a bit inconsistent and I was left disappointed with the ending. Still I really enjoyed the first half of the book and I found the relationship between Catherine and Jest to be sweet if a little quick.

Stolen Songbird by Danielle Jensen ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A new favourite! Stolen Songbird is one of the best books I’ve read this year so far and it was such a fun and compelling story. It’s about a young girl being kidnapped and taken to an underground kingdom of trolls which are creatures I don’t think I’ve ever read about before, especially not in a romantic context. It had all of my favourite guilty pleasure tropes, an arranged marriage, political intrigue and a slow burning hate-to-love romance and I just loved it so much. I immediately bought the rest of the series and I can’t wait to continue on.

Losing It by Cora Cormack ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I picked this up on a whim at a charity shop a while ago after recognising the author’s name and decided to give it a go and I was really pleasantly surprised. I usually hate the teacher-student romance trope but I honestly didn’t mind it in Losing It. I liked Bliss as a main character and the plot had the perfect mix of humor and romance that I haven’t read in a while. It wasn’t perfect but it was a lot of fun and I’m really glad I picked it up. However, I don’t think I’ll continue on in the series as the next book is about Cole who I actually really disliked in the book so I’m not that interested in his storyline but maybe if I see it for cheap I might grab it anyway.

Dreadnought by April Daniels ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ *

I actually quite liked this book but I don’t know if I’ll be doing a full review due to some comments made by the author that I found after reading Dreadnought.

Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆*

I requested this after hearing a lot of hype on twitter and to be honest I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. The romance felt very fast paced and instant and I was more interested in what happened to the protagonists brother in the woods and the mystery surrounding his murder rather than reading about Shepard. I did enjoy the banter between Claudia and Shepard though and I liked how the book explored Claudia’s recovery process. I’m interested in reading more of Rebekah Weatherspoon’s work as I’ve heard a lot of great things and I really liked her writing style and characterisation in Haven.

Play With Me by Alisha Rai ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Again, another twitter recommendation! I actually really liked Play With Me. The two protagonists were each others first loves and had an intimate and long term relationship that eventually unraveled and Play With Me explores a chance reunion that gives them both the opportunity so see just how much the other has changed and possibly continue their relationship where it left off. I enjoyed the fact that it focused on two ex’s reuniting and gave us a lot of backstory to their relationship as it made their interactions more believable and interesting to read about. It’s quite a quick read so I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a fun adult romance.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I don’t know why I put off reading this for so long! I knew I’d love it but I just always avoided picking it up but with the film coming out I just really wanted to read it and I’m so glad I did. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is such a cute book, it’s so much fun and a great summer read. Simon is an easy character to like and I feel like Becky Albertalli’s writing YA characters so well that there was something relatable within each of the characters. I was slightly underwhelmed with how the blackmailing storyline turned out but that’s one of my only gripes and I’d 100% recommend picking this up.

Alice by Christina Henry ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Another Alice in Wonderland retelling! This, however is a lot darker than Heartless, it’s actually quite a brutal and gory take on the classic Alice tale and Christina Henry’s interpretation was so interesting to read. In this book Alice has been a patient at an ‘asylum’ after being found bloody and beaten muttering about a rabbit after going missing in what is considered the ‘bad’ part of the city. We then follow Alice’s subsequent escape years later alongside another resident, axe-murderer Hatcher as they’re forced to hunt down the evil known as the Jabberwocky. It’s honestly such a unique take on Alice and I definitely think more people should read it (though do check out the trigger warnings beforehand). I can’t wait to find out where the story goes in the sequel as the book ends on a really intriguing note.

*All books marked with an asterisk were sent to me in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

